Scott West’s qualifiers for the state Class 2A individual tournament are, from left, Jack Fogarty, Tyler Shackle, Tyler Buesgens, Parker Huss and Jackson Stauffacher.
Scott West’s qualifiers for the state Class 2A individual tournament are, from left, Jack Fogarty, Tyler Shackle, Tyler Buesgens, Parker Huss and Jackson Stauffacher.
by Dan Ruud
Three Section 2AA Individual Wrestling Tournament champions and two runners-up will represent Scott West at this Friday’s and Saturday’s Minnesota State High School Class 2A Individual Tournament at Xcel Energy Center in downtown St. Paul.
Winning championships in their respective weight classes at this past Saturday’s section individual tournament at Waseca High School for Scott West and their respective weight classes were junior Jackson  Stauffacher (126), sophomore Tyler Shackle (132) and junior Tyler Buesgens (182). Also qualifying individually for state by placing second in their weight classes were senior Parker Huss (138) and junior Jack Fogarty (145).
This year’s section individual tournament was wrestled entirely in one day on Saturday. A winter storm in Waseca and elsewhere in southern Minnesota  forced the cancellation of the traditional Friday evening session, making for a long, busy day of wrestling on Saturday.
Last year, Stauffacher advanced all the way to the 126-pound championship, where he lost to unbeaten Tucker Sjomeling of Delano, who is wrestling at 132 pounds this year. In 2015, Stauffacher placed fourth in his weight division.
Shackle is making his first appearance in the state individual tournament, while Buesgens is making his second after placing fourth last year. Huss placed fourth in his weight class at the 2015 state individual tournament.
For a second straight year, sophomore Justin Stauffacher (120) just missed the state cut by placing third. Fellow sophomore Calvin Menke (220) also placed third (see section recap story inside).
According to The Guillotine’s latest rankings on Feb. 24, Buesgens (25-2) is ranked No. 1 in the state in Class 2A at 182 pounds but received the No. 2 seed for the state individual tourney. The top seed is Jared Florell of Totino-Grace (37-2).
Jackson Stauffacher is ranked No. 2 at 126 pounds and is the No. 2 seed for the state tournament behind Jake Gliva of Simley (41-2). Huss is ranked No. 5 at 138 and Fogarty is No. 9 at 145. Shackle was not ranked in The Guillotine’s latest rankings.
The first two rounds of the state Class 2A individual tournament will be held Friday, followed by the semifinals and championships on Saturday. The first day of the tournament (Thursday) will be devoted to the team tournaments, after which all three champions (Class 1A, 2A and 3A) will be crowned (see accompanying Class 2A team schedules).
Below is a listing of Friday’s individual Class 2A tourney first-round match ups involving Scott West wrestlers (season records are in parenthesis). Class 2A first-round matches start at 11 a.m. Friday, followed by the quarterfinals at 5 p.m. Semifinal matches will start at 10:15 a.m. Saturday with the championships starting at 6:30 p.m.
Wrestleback and consolation matches will be mixed in both days.
126 pounds: Jackson Stauffacher (36-6) vs. New Ulm’s Ryan Wacker (34-4).
132 pounds: Tyler Shackle (30-12) vs. Grand Rapids’ Kellen Schauer (39-2).
138 pounds: Parker Huss (36-7) vs. New Ulm’s Hunter Ranweiler (39-1).
145 pounds: Jack Fogarty (23-8) vs. Kasson-Mantorville’s Isaac Hamand (34-8).
182 pounds: Tyler Buesgens (25-2) vs. Hibbing’s Holden Law (23-11).
Section 2AA State Qualifiers
106: 1. Nick Johnson (Tri-City United), 2. Colby Dunkel (New Prague.
113: 1. Charlie Pickell (Mankato West), 2. Tucker Gifferson (Hutchinson).
120: 1. Garrett Voss (Waconia), 2. Justin Sampson (Waseca).
126: 1. Jackson Stauffacher (Scott West), 2. Brock Luthens (Hutchinson).
132: 1. Tyler Shackle (Scott West), 2. Tate Card (Hutchinson).
138: 1. Tim Stapleton (Waconia), 2. Parker Huss (Scott West).
145: 1. Tyler Wagener (Waconia), 2. Jack Fogarty (Scott West).
152: 1. Justin Schultz (Waconia), 2. Gaige Giles (New Prague).
160: 1. Cade Mueller (Waconia), 2. Corey Jobe (Watertown-Mayer).
170: 1. Mason Rutt (Tri-City United, 2. Alex Logelin (Waconia).
182: 1. Tyler Buesgens (Scott West), 2. Josh Filk (Hutchinson).
195: 1. Will Storch (Waterville-E-M, 2.  Jordan Simonette (Tri-City United).
220: 1. Zachary Jakes (Mankato West), 2. Tyler Stenzel (Hutchinson).
285: 1. Chandler Kurth (Hutchinson), 2. Tony Putz (St. Peter).
Team Tourney
The Scott West wrestling team qualified for the Minnesota State High School Class 2A Team Wrestling Tournament for the fourth year in a row with victories over Tri-City United, New Prague and Hutchinson in the Section 2AA Tournament in Jordan on Feb. 16 and 18.
Scott West, 19-0 on the season, is returning to the state team tournament for the 17th time in its 27-year history. The entire team tournament will take place throughout the day this Thursday at Xcel Energy Center.
Scott West, a combination of wrestlers from Belle Plaine and Jordan high schools, received the tournament’s No. 3 seed and will square off against unseeded Totino-Grace in the quarterfinals. Kasson-Mantorville is the top seed and Simley is No. 2. Foley is No. 4.
The top five teams have been seeded 1 through 5. Perham received the fifth seed and the other three teams randomly drew to determine which of the top three-seeded teams they will face in the quarterfinals.
Defending state Class 2A champion Kasson-Mantorville finished undefeated last season and is unbeaten again this season at 22-0. Scott West lost to K-M 36-18 in last year’s state semifinals before the Panthers rebounded to beat Simley in the match for third place.
The KoMets dominated the field in the Section 1AA Tournament two weeks ago, beating La Crescent 81-0, Byron 66-3 and Albert Lea 56-7.
Kasson-Mantorville has nine wrestlers ranked in the top 10 of their weight classes (there are 14 weight classes in all) and qualified 10 wrestlers for state, four of whom are ranked No. 1. Scott West has five ranked in the top 10, led by Tyler Buesgens No. 1 at 182 and Jackson Stauffacher No. 2 at 126. Simley has six wrestlers ranked in the top 10, including three No. 1s.
Scott West is still trying to rope its first state team championship. Its highest finishes were second in 2005, 2011, 2012 and 2014; and third in 2004, 2008 2015 and 2016. The Panthers were fourth in 2000, fifth in 1996, 2003 and 2009; and sixth in 2006 and 2010. Scott West did not place its first two years in the tournament (1994 and 1995).
State Class 2A
Team Tournament Schedule
Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul
Thursday, March 2
Quarterfinals (9 a.m.)
#1 Kasson-M (22-0) vs. Worthington (20-4)
#4 Foley (31-8) vs. #5 Perham (28-1)
#3 Scott West (19-0) vs. Totino-Grace (17-3)
#2 Simley (28-4) vs. Grand Rapids (28-7)
Semifinals (1 p.m.)
Kasson-Mantorville/Worthington winner vs. Foley/Perham winner
Scott West/Totino-Grace winner vs. Simley/Grand Rapids winner
Championship (7 p.m.)
Semifinal winners
Note: All quarterfinals losers will compete in the consolation round at 11 a.m. The two winners will meet for the consolation championship at 5 p.m. The losers of the championship semifinals will meet for third place at 5 p.m.
Tickets for a single session at this year’s state tournament cost $14 for adults and $9 for students. Daily passes cost $26 for adults and $17 for students. Complete tournament passes can be bought for $78 and $51, respectively.