An image.
  • <br />Login
  • Subscribe
10/19/2017
About Us | Contact Us | Advertise | Subscribe | Archives | Events | View/Buy Photos
  • Thursday, October 05, 2017 3:34 PM
    I wept over the front page of the Herald last week. Not tears of joy over the beauty and strength and possibility of the young people celebrating Homecoming. Not tears of admiration for a visionary with reources and ideas I cannot imagine. I shed tears of sadness over a school board that wants to raise $500,000 of property tax to increase the districts ACT average 1 point.
  • Thursday, October 05, 2017 3:33 PM
    How Healthy is Your Relationship?
    “Honoring Her Journey” is the theme for Southern Valley Alliance for Battered Women’s 35th anniversary. Since 1982, SVABW has served nearly 20,000 victims. Domestic violence is an EPIDEMIC and it is prevalent in every community, even beautiful, rural, idyllic Scott and Carver counties. Last year SVABW served 731 victims in Scott and Carver counties. Domestic violence does not discriminate and affects people regardless of age, economic status, sexual orientation, gender, race, religion or nationality.

  • Friday, September 29, 2017 11:37 AM
    The last 3 years we have seen our water and sewer bill go up. When they justify this in the paper they compare our rates to other towns in Scott County. Saying ours are lower than other towns.
    How come when it come to our property taxes they don’t compare us to other towns in Scott County.
    Jonathan Fahey
    Belle Plaine 
  • Monday, September 18, 2017 9:09 AM
    As I sit down to mark my home calendar with the “no school” days I notice that once again Belle Plaine School District is not observing Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Monday, February 15. Why is it that this seems to be the first Federal Holiday the school is willing to give up?
    With all that is going on in our world right now, we need to celebrate the legacy of a man who gave so many people hope, courage and inspiration. We should be honoring the man who contributed so much to racial justice, equality and unconditional love.
    Our children need to be learning about Martin Luther King Jr. At least we could teach the message, reinforce the importance of the civil rights movement and educate our young people on how to work together to solve conflicts rather than against one another.
    In 1947, King wrote: We must remember that intelligence is not enough. Intelligence plus character - that is the goal of true education.
    Kristy Bieder,
    Belle Plaine
  • Monday, September 18, 2017 9:08 AM
    Good taxpayer money spent on bike trails for our bikers/hikers. I’ll bet there are more dog owners than bikers that would enjoy a place to let their dogs run and play off the leashes.
    Dog parks are cheap and allow both the people and dogs an opportunity to socialize. A fence, benches, sun/rain roof and poop bags is all that’s necessary.
    It would be money well spent.
    Warren Vogt,
    Blakeley
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017 9:52 AM
    Our Belle Plaine Vets Club houses several service organizations: The Veterans of Foreign Wars, The Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary, The American Legion, The American Legion Auxiliary and The Sons of The American Legion. As patriotic veterans organizations we are devoted to mutual helpfulness. Our organizations are committed to mentoring youth and sponsoring wholesome programs in our community.
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017 9:52 AM
    The story line in Belle Plaine has been about freedom of speech and religion. Those concepts, while important, miss the point.
  • Monday, June 26, 2017 10:11 AM
    I read Reverend Lynch’s letter to the editor and it is with a devotion of duty and our countries heritage to correct some misconceptions that Lynch puts forth.
    While we agreed that the Declaration of Independence is a significant part of our history,  it is not a document of governance that is the Constitution.  Anyone who has serviced in the Military  or served in a government office knows one takes an oath to uphold the Constitution of the United States of America.
  • Monday, May 22, 2017 8:56 AM
    I was saddened and shocked to read about the passing of Dan Ruud. As  I read the article in last week’s Herald I was impressed as to how many lives this man had touched through his writing and photo journaling for our newspaper.  
    Is there a home where a scrapbook does not contain clippings of special events at school, prom, sports or BBQ Days or other town events? We owe a lot to this man who helped us to see ourselves celebrating or in trial through his journaling work.  
    My condolences to his wife, Luanne and his sons.  We will miss this man.
    Susan Mecredy
    Blakeley Townshi
  • Friday, May 12, 2017 1:57 PM
    As the Metropolitan Council Representative for District 4, I am fiercely dedicated to working to advance our region and to represent my district. When I see something that could be detrimental to either of those, I feel it is critical to speak up. Right now, we have an issue that could impact many people in a very negative way.
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017 9:23 AM
    I have to commend Brian Lynch for sharing his insights in the last two Belle Plaine Heralds concerning the groups “Freedom from Religion” and the “Reason Alliance, LTD”.  It is becoming less and less popular to speak up against these things as a Christian.  So much bullying is going on in the name of “Separation of Church and State”.  The idea behind that was that government could not establish a state church.  That is all.
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017 9:22 AM
    We would like to bring attention to the general public about the recent budget cuts of the Belle Plaine Area Schools. We are appalled that some of the most practical and influential classes are being cut. These classes are the shop/industrial arts, and the agriculture education classes. One of the two Ag teacher positions is being cut to 1/3 time. Odds are, they will not find a teacher to fill this position.
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017 9:22 AM
    A country’s national budget defines its priorities and values. The Republican budget is the opposite of our American values.

  • Friday, April 14, 2017 9:01 AM
    Congratulations to Mr. Lynch for serving in the Navy. Your service is appreciated. You do make two leaps in your letter to the Herald that deserve clarification
  • Thursday, April 06, 2017 9:55 AM
    Many years ago when I was 17 years old, I applied to the U.S. Naval Academy.  As part of that process I was able to witness the interview of a fellow candidate
GO

Most Viewed

Home | News | Sports | Community | Opinion | Obits | Announcements | Legal | eEdition | Classifieds | Facebook | Twitter
eMail | About Us | Contact Us | Advertise | Subscribe | Archives | Events

© 2017 Belle Plaine Herald. All Rights Reserved. 113 East Main Street, Belle Plaine, MN 56011
Telephone: (952) 873-2261

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved